Tags

, , ,

Brussels Sprouts & Flank Steak!

Roasted Brussels Sprouts with Cranberry Pistachio Pesto adapted from SteamyKitchen.com

Brussels sprouts are my favorite vegetables. Yes, you heard it; I LOVE brussels sprouts. My love affair began a little over a year ago on Christmas Eve 2010 when I tried brussels sprouts for the first time. I was at a friend’s family dinner and saw these green mini-globes and naively asked, “What are those?” only to get an incredulous look, “YOU DON’T KNOW WHAT BRUSSEL SPROUTS ARE?” Needless to say, I’ve been the recipient of many of these looks in my lifetime. Like, when I had mac n’ cheese for the first time….in 8th grade. That’s a story for another day though. Back to these delicious and healthy vegetables. My first time, they were plain and boiled but I still like them. This experience was followed by trying brussels sprouts in every which way and one of my favorite recipes is the one below. Cranberry pistachio pesto; what is that? Yeah, I thought the same thing…but I love pesto (its not remotely like pesto) so I thought why not, sounds unique – I’ll give it a shot. My favorite way to eat brussels sprouts is to toss them with a little olive oil, salt and pepper and roast them (like below) and this “pesto” adds a very interesting touch. I’ve never had anything like it; its sour but sweet; compliments the dish but also stands on its own. I promise you’ve never had anything like it and you’ll wonder what else you can put this mysterious pesto on. Plus…this was the recipe that introduced me to Steamy Kitchen; it has a special place in my heart ❤ Enjoy!

Oh PS. I usually make flank steak to accompany these (see pictures). Just cut flank steak against the grain very thinly and grill for 2-3 min on medium high heat.

 
Ingredients
For Brussels Sprouts
1 1/2 pounds brussels sprouts
3 tablespoons olive oil
3/4 teaspoon kosher salt
1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
1/4 cup Cranberry Pistachio Pesto (see below)

For Pesto
1/2 cup toasted pistachios
1/2 cup dried cranberries
3 cloves roasted garlic
1/2 cups olive oil
salt and freshly ground black pepper to taste

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 400°F

2. Cut off the knobby end of the Brussels sprouts and pull off any loose outer leaves. Cut the brussels sprouts in half, lengthwise.

3. Transfer halved sprouts to a bowl and toss with olive oil, salt and pepper.

3. On a baking sheet, spread the brussels sprouts evenly and roast for 25 minutes. They are ready once you start to see a bit of browning on the brussels sprouts and the interior should be fork tender. I leave them in for 2-3 more minutes because I love the crispy outer leaves.

4. Place the pistachios, cranberries, garlic and parsley into a food processor and process until very finely chopped. While the food processor is running, slowly drizzle in 2 tablespoons of the olive oil. Spoon out the pesto into a bowl and stir in remaining olive oil. Season with salt and black pepper to taste. The pesto should be slightly sweet and salty.

5. Serve the brussels sprouts with a spoonful of the Cranberry Pistachio Pesto on top.

http://steamykitchen.com/9035-roasted-brussels-sprouts-cranberry-pistachio-pesto.html