I had quite the “New England” experience this past weekend. I drove through the country in Maine, enjoyed the fall foliage and went apple picking (for the first time!) at Spiller Farm in Wells, ME. Walking through the orchard was lovely. As my bag began to weigh heavier, I learned very quickly that one person doesn’t need THAT many apples. And this was when my friends and I proceeded to act like children and started throwing apples; at trees, one another or nothing really. Gotta stay young, right? We even got an offer of 10 bucks from a stranger to hit their friend, hah. Anyways…after we got our inner child out, we enjoyed some warm apple cider donuts at the farm store and perused their vegetables before heading home.

With so many apples, I decided to make two different kinds of treats. First, you can’t go wrong with a traditional homemade apple pie. Second, I wanted something with a little more pizzazz so I went with a crumbly type pie with a pecan and brown sugar topping.

Okay, disclaimer…the pies were almost homemade. The crusts were purchased from the grocery store BUT I did pick the apples myself and peel them! I figure that’s close enough…from tree to table! Maybe I’ll go for the handmade piecrust for a Thanksgiving pie since these two were such a success! I’ve always really enjoyed a nice, hearty slice of pie so I thought it was time to take a shot at making them myself. Quickly looking up a few recipes made me realize that making pie really isn’t all that difficult or time consuming. Peel some apples, throw in some spices, bake it, add some ice cream and voilà! Recipes are below with my minor additions and tips 🙂

Photo Sep 28, 3 33 41 PM

DSC04772

DSC04777

Apple Pie

DSC04792

Ingredients:
2 frozen deep dish pie shells (Mrs. Smith’s 9 inch)
5 cups of thinly sliced peeled McIntosh apples (about 3 large ones)
½ cup sugar
½ cup Gold Medal all purpose flour
½ teaspoon cinnamon
½ teaspoon ground nutmeg
½ teaspoon cloves
milk and additional sugar for sealing crusts

DSC04779 DSC04781

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 425°F
  2. Stir together sugar, flour, cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves in a large bowl until well mixed
  3. Mix in apples until each slice looks like it’s covered with the spice mixture
  4. Spoon apple and spice mixture into the frozen piecrust. Dot with butter.
  5. Pop second crust out of its packaging and place upside down on pie with apple mixture. Brush edge with milk and push the edges of the two crusts together. Gently cut four openings on the top piecrust to let it breath while baking.
  6. Brush entire crust with milk and sprinkle with sugar.
  7. Bake 30-35 min or until the crust has turned golden brown
  8. Remove from oven, let cool and serve (with vanilla ice cream is my favorite!)

http://www.bettycrocker.com/recipes/fresh-apple-pie

Photo Sep 29, 8 47 28 PMPhoto Sep 29, 8 49 24 PM

Apple Crumble Pie

DSC04793
Ingredients:
1 frozen pie shell -9 inch
5 cups thinly sliced peeled McIntosh apples (about 3 large ones)DSC04782

¾ cups of granulated sugar
½ teaspoon cinnamon
½ teaspoon nutmeg
1/8 teaspoon salt

Topping:
¼ cup brown sugar
¼ cup all purpose flour
2 tablespoons butter
½ cup chopped pecans

DSC04788

DSC04786

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 400°F
  2. Fill pie shell with sliced apples
  3. In medium sized bowl, combine sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg and salt. Sprinkle evenly over the apples.
  4. In a small sized bowl, combine topping ingredients until crumbly. Cut up the butter into small pieces and mash into rest of mixture. Sprinkle over top of the pie.
  5. Bake at 400°F for 45-50 minutes or until topping is browned.

http://southernfood.about.com/od/applepies/r/bl50808a.htm

