Tags

Banana Bread courtesy of L’s madre
I have loved banana bread since the first time I tried it. Something about the smell and taste just reminds me of being a little kid without a care in the world. I searched far and wide for a good recipe and this is it. Many thanks to L’s mom! Let’s be serious, every girl needs a signature dish and banana bread is a classic. Be honest; do you know anyone who DOESN’T like banana bread? I don’t. I made some minor adjustments to the original recipe by doubling up on the ground cloves and substituting regular milk with soy-milk. The key to good banana bread is to use very ripe bananas; they might as well be black as far as I’m concerned (seriously). I will usually let two of them reach the perfect ripeness and then throw them in the freezer until I’m ready to make the bread. Growing up, I cooked with my grandmother frequently. She insisted I sift EVERYTHING before we mixed it. Actually, she refused to show me her recipes if I didn’t follow her directions to a T (from memory mind you!). It was time consuming and kind of tiring. Furthermore, I wasn’t all that convinced it made much of a difference (probably because my arms were sore by the time we were done). Anyways, my mom got me one of those nifty sifters that do all the work for you so it’s no longer a hassle. Sifting the ingredients does make it all the better so don’t forgot to do it! I put walnuts in the version pictured but I will mix it up from time to time using chocolate chips or the plain ole’ classic.

Ingredients
2 ripe bananas mashed
1 ½ cups sugar ¼ cup milk (I use vanilla soymilk)
2 cups flour
½ teaspoon salt
½ teaspoon cinnamon
1-1 ½ teaspoon ground cloves
2 eggs
½ cup vegetable oil
1 teaspoon baking soda
½ teaspoon double acting baking powder
1 teaspoon vanilla

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 325°F
  2. Before mixing, set out eggs and mashed bananas in order to warm them room temperature. Make sure to sift flour and sugar before adding ingredients.
  3. Mix ingredients in the order written until well mixed
  4. Taste the batter to make sure it satisfies your sweet tooth 🙂
  5. Bake for approximately 1 hour or until the top is golden/splits a little. I put a toothpick through the middle and take out the pan when it comes out clean
  6. Sprinkle with confectioners sugar and enjoy! 
