Tags

, ,


Asparagus, Goat Cheese and Lemon Pasta

adapted from smittenkitchen.com

I am not a big pasta eater at home, I tend to go for the more filling ravioli and tortellini versions but this dish is easy to make and delicious. Who can resist a good pasta dish? It took me under 15 minutes start to finish. I used wheat pasta because I love the taste and prefer to avoid white carbs. Make sure to taste it after mixing in the sauce. I added a generous amount of salt and pepper to taste afterwards. And because I love the lemony tang of this dish, I popped a whole lemon in the microwave for 15 seconds (easier to squeeze the juice out) and squeezed both halves into the dish. I mixed the sauce with a fork and mashed up the goat cheese then poured the sauce over the steaming pasta and asparagus. I also went much lighter on the goat cheese (about half than the recipe recommends). Before serving, I added a little parmesan cheese and drizzled Trader Joe’s Hot Sauce (tastes good on EVERYTHING). Great meal to take to work for lunch or easy dish when having a few people over for dinner.

Ingredients:  Serves 6
1 pound rotini wheat pasta
1 pound slender asparagus spears, trimmed, cut into 1- to 1 1/2-inch pieces
1/4 cup olive oil
1 tablespoon finely grated lemon peel
1 5- to 5 1/2-ounce log soft fresh goat cheese (the pre-crumbled stuff will not melt as well)
Fresh
1 juice of one lemon (optional)
A few drops of trader joes hot sauce (optional)
1 teaspoon parmesan cheese (optional)
 

Directions:

  1. Cook your pasta in a large pot of well-salted water until it is almost tender, or about three minutes shy of what the package suggests. Add asparagus and cook until firm-tender, another two to three minutes.
  2. While asparagus cooks, mix the olive oil, lemon peel and cheese in small bowl crushing the cheese into the mixture with a fork.
  3. Transfer hot pasta and asparagus to large bowl and pour sauce over it. Toss until smoothly combined. Season generously with salt and pepper, and lemon juice if you feel it needs a little extra kick.

http://smittenkitchen.com/2009/05/asparagus-goat-cheese-and-lemon-pasta/

